Cuneiform Brick

About this object

History of use

Complete brick from Mesopotamia with a royal inscription of King Amar-Suen of the Third Dynasty of Ur (2112-2004 B.C.). The inscription records the building of the temple of the god Enki in the city of Eridu in southern Mesopotamia. Bricks like this were intended to glorify the king, and to preserve for posterity the memory of the builder. Most of the buildings in ancient Mesopotamia were constructed out of mud brick, and inevitably, they would need repair and reconstruction. The use of stamped bricks and other types of markers such as clay cones was intended to preserve for subsequent generations the name of the pious king who had originally built or rebuilt the temple. Translation: "Amar-Suen, the one called by name by the god Enlil in Nippur, supporter of the temple of the god Enlil, mighty king, king of Ur, king of the four quarters, for the god Enki, his beloved lord, built his beloved Abzu for him."


Collected by H. V. S. Page either in 1880? or during or immediately following WWI.

Physical description

Complete brick made of cream coloured, unbaked clay. A rectangular panel of cuneiform was stamped on the front and one of the sides.