Picture Frame

About this object

Narrative

Inscription on reverse reads: "Port Simpson. Picture frame by Tsimpshean Indian; old mission church before its destruction by fire, 1931." In 1831 Fort Nass was built at the mouth of the Nass River, but was soon renamed Fort Simpson after Captain Aemilius Simpson who chose the site but died four months after its establishment. In 1834 the fort was moved and reestablished at the Tsimshian summer village of Lax Kw’alaams. The first HBC factor at the new Fort Simpson married the daughter of Gispaxlo'ots Chief Legaic, as part of the diplomacy which established the fort on their territory. In 1880 the community was renamed Port Simpson. In 1986 the name Port Simpson was officially changed back to Lax Kw'alaams ("place of wild roses").

Physical description

Wooden frame with photograph of an old mission church glued onto the centre. Frame is incised with Northwest Coast images. Inscription on back.